Secret Codes Needed

I’m feeling more and more like I’m living in a spy novel; I have to provide a password for everything I do.

My computer wants a code to go from the  opening screen to the Windows desktop before I can start work. My e-mail provider wants my e-mail address (don’t they know it?) and my password before I can read the latest missives that have arrived. My inbox has an ad from my favorite rubber stamp shop but to order from them, they need my special identity code.

Recently,  my church bought a new copier.  It’s one of the new, sophisticated, digital contraptions that copies, scans, faxes, collates, rotates images, knows what size paper I want to use, does open heart surgery (no,wait- it can’t do that). In other words, it has so many functions everyone in the congregation is going to want to use it. But, they can’t unless they have the secret code. Because I have to print out reams of copies for the children’s classes, I have one of the secret passwords. Now I have to add it to my list of secret codes that I keep in a secret file, guarded by my secret password. . . just as soon as I remember the combination of  letters that lets me into that encrypted document.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lanita
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:20:57

    So true! I know just what you mean. I have put all my passwords in one document and when we travel I’m paranoid that someone will get my jump drive that has all that secret information on it.
    At least we don’t have to have secret codes to read a book–yet! (But I do have to have one to download a book in the first place….)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

