The Green Dictators

“The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few.” Matthew 9:37
 

The Green Dictators are back in power. Every spring my husband plants a vegetable garden and starts cultivating his fruit trees and berry bushes. By the middle of summer we are completely controlled by the demands of plants. They need water. They want the soil tilled. They insist that those pesky weed neighbors be removed from the premises.

Those demands are usually tended to by my husband but the fruits and vegetables aren’t satisfied with his attentions alone.

Waiting for attention

Soon corn needs husked. Green beans have to be snapped. The berries need to be washed and bagged.  Like the wicked step-sisters in Cinderella, they have no patience. They don’t care what my personal agenda for the day is, their demands must be met immediately or “we will dry out, wilt, or soften beyond usefulness,” they declare.

I yield to their power, delay my morning writing time, and contemplate how to uproot the tyrants.  I imagine whirlwinds whisking the trees away, hail pounding berries into a pulp. I dream of swarms of locusts descending with a biblical fierceness and stripping the plants bare, freeing me from my bondage.

Then a cool breeze blows in and reminds me that the power of the green dictators is always short-lived. Soon, frost will invade their territory, turning their green foliage brown,  brittle and unproductive. When winter winds whirl and plants lay bare, I will no longer be filling the freezer, but feasting on the bounty there and realize that those tyrants of the summer are benevolent dictators. I might even be tempted to order my husband another seed catalog.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Strickland
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 17:04:17

    Connie, how clever; I remember Bill bringing a wheelbarrow full of carrots to the back door one year and I thought I wanted run away 🙂 But, come December, those beans and carrots tasted great 🙂 I am always comforted by the knowledge God wired us to work–it is part of His plan 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lanita
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 22:34:29

    I love this! Your whole analogy of the demands of your plants and your responses to them is lyrical. I can feel your angst and yet understand that their demands must be met. Thanks for an entertaining read!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

